Go Back   LPGA Golf Forum > Other Discussions > Introductions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2015, 01:37 PM   #1

Never Imagined I'd Be Here!

Hello To All… allow me to introduce myself with some basic facts.

1. I was born Legally Blind (totally blind in one eye, very legally blind in the other) I have enough vision to walk around without bumping into things, but can’t see detail “like faces” from more than about 4 feet away. Therefore, I have never stepped onto a real golf course… Yet! I am also in the bottom 10% financially, so I can’t afford golf lessons… Yet! I have to believe there are some pretty good legally blind golfers out there?

2. As silly as this sounds, I learned everything I know about the game by playing golf video games. I became “extremely” good at it. If only I could transfer those skills into the real world!

3. This is my first year following the LPGA. It just never occurred to me before because the men get SO much more coverage and attention. So far, I’m loving it for various reasons.

4. I followed the PGA off & on for several years, but I now prefer the LPGA for the same reason I prefer women’s tennis. The game just "seems" a bit slower and easier to follow. I also like the diversity in personalities (and outfits) that seem to be missing from the PGA? Maybe I'm wrong, but it seems to me you learn more about the “real” person watching the LPGA. Most of the women show their "in the moment" emotions far more than 95% of the men.