Go Back   LPGA Golf Forum > LPGA Player Discussions > Specific LPGA Players > Ji-Yai Shin

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2009, 08:06 PM   #11
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10,053
Originally Posted by heddwyn View Post
So Shin only got in to the Thailand tourney on an exemption because she won the British Open and the ADT, not being an LPGA member at the time, and her winnings don't count. Annika only won 72 tournaments, even though she actually won more tournaments worldwide than anyone else. Laura Davies is not in the HoF, because they didn't recognise whichever tournament at the time, even though someone else was credited with a major in retrospect. The LPGA needs to get its head out of its *$$.
Actually Shin won three tournaments while not an LPGA member. In addition to the ADT Championship and the British Open, she also won the Mizuno Classic. I don't object to her winnings in 2008 not counting. Had she been a member in 2008 she would have had to comply with a lot of other regulations (like minimum number of tournaments played) and so it's fair that her money not count. She was able to gain LPGA membership through her wins, bypassing Q-school, unlike Stacy Lewis who suffered from a truly unfair rule in not having her winnings from the US Open count toward membership status.

As for Annika, that's not an equal comparison. She didn't have any additonal LPGA tournaments that didn't count. It's the LPGA's money list. Why should they recognize wins on the LET or at other unofficial events? Same with the HOF for Davies.
Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 08:22 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Carol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 485
I E-mailed LPGA and that's reply!

Thank you for your interest in the LPGA. Jiyai Shin’s money from the Honda LPGA Thailand will not count as official money for the LPGA Official Money list because she did not earn her way into the field. She was given a sponsor’s exemption. For our international tournaments, if you don’t get into the field based on merit then your money doesn’t count as official. There are a handful of other players that don’t have their money counting either. Same thing goes for last week’s HSBC Women’s Champions.

Hope that helps explain things.

Stacy Shanks (Spencer)
www.LPGA.com
Carol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 08:31 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,118
Blue, agreed about Stacy Lewis. I didn't include Annika or LD because of money list, just adding them to the mix of things which p*$$ me off about the LPGA.
heddwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 08:52 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Golf Course
Posts: 3,390
......Stacy Shanks (Spencer)
LPGA.com

What an unfortunate surname for someone working in the golf industry!!

AKKKKKKKK!
LoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 09:38 AM   #15
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 8,807
Now THAT was funny.
__________________
Happiness isn't getting what you want, it's wanting what you have.
MarinePaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 10:52 AM   #16
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10,053
Originally Posted by Stacy Shanks

Thank you for your interest in the LPGA. Jiyai Shin’s money from the Honda LPGA Thailand will not count as official money for the LPGA Official Money list because she did not earn her way into the field. She was given a sponsor’s exemption. For our international tournaments, if you don’t get into the field based on merit then your money doesn’t count as official. There are a handful of other players that don’t have their money counting either. Same thing goes for last week’s HSBC Women’s Champions.

Hope that helps explain things.

Stacy Shanks (Spencer)
www.LPGA.com
Dear Ms. Shanks,
We understand. But please explan why Jiyai Shin's earnings from the Honda LPGA are not showing up as unofficial either, here:
LPGA.com

Sincerely,
your loyal customer.
Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 04:57 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,118
For our international tournaments, if you don’t get into the field based on merit then your money doesn’t count as official.

Rather a poor choice of words considering. I'd have thought merit was precisely why she did get in.

Last edited by heddwyn; 03-09-2009 at 05:00 PM.
heddwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2 PL2

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS!