Go Back   LPGA Golf Forum > LPGA Player Discussions > Specific LPGA Players > Michelle Wie

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2013, 09:08 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Down on the bayou
Posts: 583
Originally Posted by sjhnatfan View Post
Yeah andCreamer Kerr and Lewis combined for 1.0 (.5 from Lewis & Kerr) on Sunday.

I didn't see this as a case of the US choking as I did as a case of the Euros kicking tale. Charley Hull flat took Paula to the woodshed. Paula didn't play bad, Charley just played better.
Yes, the Euros did kick butt... But, Paula was something like four over par when she played Hull... and that was for 14 holes (I think). Yes, Paula played poorly against Hull.
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 09:09 AM   #32
Senior Member
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Down on the bayou
Posts: 583
Originally Posted by Blue View Post
The point is that Wie was outscored across the board. She was an average player on a terrible team.
That's a fair evaluation...
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 12:59 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Oahu Prison
Posts: 73
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
When points are scored in doubles competition, you can't tell which of the partners is responsible... one?.. the other?... both? From what I saw, Wie was carried by each of her doubles partners; Kerr, Korda and Lang. Did Wie ever have her score earn a hole while her partner did worse on the hole?... my recollection is that she didn't, but I could be wrong. So, those two points "she" earned don't reflect what she did. Losing the singles to a player who was at her worst in the singles is meaningful. Let's not forget that Wie was OVER PAR in that singles match.
Being over par in match play really means nothing. If win 3 holes with birdies and lose 1 with a quad I'd be 1 over but still be up by 2.
jumong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 02:17 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Down on the bayou
Posts: 583
Originally Posted by jumong View Post
Being over par in match play really means nothing. If win 3 holes with birdies and lose 1 with a quad I'd be 1 over but still be up by 2.

That's basically what I was saying.
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2 PL2

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS!