Go Back   LPGA Golf Forum > Other Discussions > myLPGA

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2011, 03:25 AM   #1
Administrator

Back from vacation

Hi all
I'm back from vacation. Looks like there have been a few issues since I have been gone. I will look into it more after i settle in a bit.

I'd just like everyone to know that I think Blue has done a great job as moderator over the years, as well as been a top contributor to the forum and I have supported her all the way. I am a novice compared to her when it comes to discussing the LPGA. I think its hard to be a moderator as well as an aggressive debater/poster, as your status then becomes a target. It looks like from Blue's PM that she is taking a break from the forums.

Know that all forums usually have this problem when people debate idea's, I've found that in most arguments it usually comes down to attacking a persons creditability, knowledge, person, status, or something along those lines. I don't particularly like it but its a fact of life. I've try to keep a fine line with censorship and moderation on the forums to keep everyone happy. Also I like it not to take up any of my time as I have better things to do.

Trying to be unbiased and neutral here as everyone has a point of view, I'm not sure what solution I should take at this point. I'll see if Blue would like to stand down as moderator that way you can all ignore each other as you see fit. But will that solve the problem? or will i still get reported posts?

I think we have had this discussion before should we censor everything that people find offensive, or just remove moderator status altogether so members can ignore each other or argue as they see fit. Or have it like other sites where the trolls can just run loose. Should a moderator be an unbiased poster with no opinions that could possible cause conflict?
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 12:32 PM   #2

Well said, CG.