Go Back   LPGA Golf Forum > Other Discussions > Anything

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2015, 06:13 PM   #1

The Most Talented Players On Tour

So in the Solheim thread Blue made a comment about Wie and Ko and their talent. I didn't want to derail that thread so I am asking here: who are the most talented players currently on tour and let's say also of the 2000s. I can't say I'm an LPGA novice anymore having followed the tour 17 years now...but compared to some people in this forum who have followed the tour and played golf either for decades or darn near their entire lives, I will always be a novice.

To be clear, I am not saying most ACCOMPLISHED...I am saying most TALENTED. Blue mentioned Lydia Ko and Michelle Wie. If somebody who didn't follow the LPGA asked me that question, I would give a conditional answer, saying that when she's on, it's Suzann Pettersen. To make a tennis analogy, Novak Djokovic is clearly the best player. But to me, Roger Federer is still more talented. Roger at his absolute best is better than anybody but he's not always at his absolute best.

Part of my Pettersen answer is that it's the answer I've given for many years. But along the lines of what Blue said, I don't think I've ever seen anyone like Lydia Ko before.

---Bruce Lee

http://bangkokbobbysports.wordpress.com/
bangkokbobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 07:45 PM   #2
Forum Moderator

This is a good question and hard to answer.

Talking strictly about current active players who seem to have enormous God-given talent, that may or may not be accompanied by a hard work ethic, desire, or performance, I'd include these, not necessarily in order:

Lydia Ko
Michelle Wie
Yani Tseng
Se Ri Pak
Charley Hull

One thing about natural talent is it manifests at a young age. It's not a coincidence that all of the above were child or teenage prodigies.

Last edited by Blue; 09-21-2015 at 09:43 AM.
Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 06:50 AM   #3