Jiyai Shin named 2009 Rookie of the Year
Home » LPGA Players » Jiyai Shin named 2009 Rookie of the Year
By | No CommentsLeave a Comment
Last updated: Wednesday, November 4, 2009

jiyai-shin-rolex-rookie-of-the-year3Jiyai Shin was named the 2009 Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year, the LPGA Tour announced on Monday Nov. 2, 2009. The 21-year-old is the 48th Tour member to earn Rookie of the Year honors since the award began in 1962. The award is named after Louise Suggs, one of the founders of the LPGA.

Shin, who has accumulated 1,406 points in the rookie race this season, has eliminated the other rookies in the running, including Michelle Wie who was second in the race at (764 points), and Anna Nordqvist who was third at (722). The points are awarded based on how a player’s finish in a event. The points system awards: 150 points for first; 80 points for second; 75 points for third and so on.

Shin has won three tournaments so far for 2009 and has had 9 top ten finishes for this year. The tournaments she has won include the HSBC Women’s Champions, Wegmans LPGA, and P&G Beauty NW Arkansas Championship.

Shin has won a total of $1,664,395.00 in prize money this year sitting her first on the money list for 2009. She currently ranks second on the Rolex Women’s World Golf Rankings one behind Lorena Ochoa.

Shin is the 6th player from South Korea to win the Rookie of the Year award the others are Se Ri Pak, Mi Hyun Kim, Hee-Won Han, Shi Hyun Ahn, Seon Hwa Lee.

Keep and eye on Jiyai Shin to also pick up the the Rolex Player of the Year award. She stands a fair chance of taking the trophy from Lorena Ochoa who has won the past three years running.


There are no comments just yet

Leave a Comment